trot ambassador marc henn

Meet the Team Trot Ambassador Marc Henn

Marc Henn


1.) What goals do you have, (personal or running related), going into 2016?

My goals have somewhat changed this year.  I started off the year with my training going amazingly well and feeling stronger than I've ever felt ramping up toward running my first 50 miler but then I came down with a sore achillies and I've been nursing that since.  I'll be slowly starting to train this week and will hopefully be ready to run the San Felipe Shootout in March and if things go really well the Brazos Bend 50 in April.  One goal I'm also hoping to achieve is earning the TROT 10 award which means I need to run (and finish) most of the TROT races this year. 

2.) How long have you been running and how did you get into the sport?

I started running just over two years ago.  I signed up with a goal to finish a 5k without walking and after a month of training I was able to do it on race day.  After that I caught the running bug and soon after that I was introduced to trail running.

3.) Most recent race/achievement that you are proud of?

Running the Grand Canyon Rim to Rim to Rim was just an amazing life experience.  We took our time, took tons of pictures, and smelled the roses along the way but it was a very difficult.  I'd also say I'm also proud to have finished the Franklin Mountain 50k and look forward to running that again.  Not even counting the climbing it was the most difficult trail race I've ever run but also one of the most rewarding.

4.) What other outdoor pursuits or cross training endeavors do you participate in? 

I enjoy camping with my family.  We probably average a dozen or so trips a year all over the state.  I'll normally pick spots that also have trail running options.  I also play tennis and enjoy going dove or duck hunting. 

5.) Other than running and being an amazing human being, whats your day job or what keeps you busy during the day to day?

I'm a Certified Financial Planner practitioner and have my own practice in Temple, Texas.  I enjoy helping people pursue their financial goals though planning and investing.  I also have 2 daughters who are also very active, playing soccer and running an occasional 5k.